Moto Hell - The Motorola Modding Community
April 28, 2024, 06:30:46 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: The forum is no longer active and registration is disabled; however you can still fetch everything as guest.
 
   Home   Help Facebook Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't edit system via Telnet (E2)  (Read 5519 times)
rahjman
Guest
« on: February 28, 2009, 10:58:13 am »

Hi.

I have partitioned my sd as;

/dev/mmca1      700m   fat16
/dev/mmca5        32m   swap
/dev/mmca6        270m  ext2

I have formatted all with success. mmca1 mounts to /mmc/mmca1.  How can I mount ext2 partition. I try to create dir /mmc/mmca6 but it says "Operation not permitted".

I want to mount it some where,  better under /mmc/. Also will it auto mount it every reboot or should I write /etc/fstab ?



« Last Edit: February 28, 2009, 10:59:54 am by rahjman » Logged
keaglez
Indonesian Motolover
PHD modder
***

Karma: 61
Offline Offline

Posts: 2562


http://jeffri.net


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2009, 05:28:53 pm »

If you use MAXX IV, it will mount to /mmc/mmcb1 if I'm not wrong... In other firmware, it will mount to /ezxlocal/download/mystuff folder...
Logged

Best regards,
Jeffri H.

rahjman
Guest
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2009, 02:06:13 am »

I use BlackStorm. Dont I have root access via telnet, so why cant I modify system files? I try to create some symlinks in /usr/lib but it just says operation not permitted. I have cross compiled qt embedded 4.4.3 trying to use its libs on SD card.
Logged
keaglez
Indonesian Motolover
PHD modder
***

Karma: 61
Offline Offline

Posts: 2562


http://jeffri.net


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2009, 02:18:00 am »

Root access is useless, since the system is placed in a compressed file system, that only allow read-only... To modify the system, you need to modify and recreate the code group (the compressed file system) on the computer, then flash it to the phone...

To test some cross compiled libs, you can use another trick like placing the libs on SD and add/set the environment to LD_LIBRARY_PATH, for example
Code:
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/mmc/mmca1/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

or using mount --bind
Code:
mount --bind /mmc/mmca1/lib/somelib.so /usr/lib/somelib.so
It will make the same effect as replacing the libs, but temporary...

Hope it helps and CMIIW... Smiley
Logged

Best regards,
Jeffri H.

rahjman
Guest
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2009, 04:46:26 am »

Thanks dude. I understand but one more question about e2 sysstem ; where the java or mpkg apps written when we install them on phones memory instead of SD card?( I just wonder )

BTW, yes I set enviroment vars but I get a strage error when I try to use a very simple QtGui app that just has a pushbutton;

"Failed to mmap /mmc/mmca1/qt4/lib/fonts/helvetica_100_50.qpf"

QtCore runs normal ( console apps I mean ) but I can't run any QtGui app. Something wrong about fonts. So I wanted to try if its about using libs on SD or not.

Thanks anyways.
Logged
keaglez
Indonesian Motolover
PHD modder
***

Karma: 61
Offline Offline

Posts: 2562


http://jeffri.net


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2009, 06:02:06 am »

Thanks dude. I understand but one more question about e2 sysstem ; where the java or mpkg apps written when we install them on phones memory instead of SD card?( I just wonder )

BTW, yes I set enviroment vars but I get a strage error when I try to use a very simple QtGui app that just has a pushbutton;

"Failed to mmap /mmc/mmca1/qt4/lib/fonts/helvetica_100_50.qpf"

QtCore runs normal ( console apps I mean ) but I can't run any QtGui app. Something wrong about fonts. So I wanted to try if its about using libs on SD or not.

Thanks anyways.
The mpkg/java is stored in ezxlocal...

For the font, I'm not sure, I never tried it...
Logged

Best regards,
Jeffri H.

rahjman
Guest
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2009, 06:52:06 am »

Hmm, Ok.

I want to ask something else Smiley I get Segmentation Fault if try try to run app that I compiled ezx sdk. I set env vars like this:

# export QTDIR=/usr/lib/ezx
# export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$QTDIR/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
then

#./hello-world.lin
Segmentation Fault

It runs on the phone. Did I  something wrong with exports?

I know I am asking too much, but I'am curious. Thanks.
Logged
keaglez
Indonesian Motolover
PHD modder
***

Karma: 61
Offline Offline

Posts: 2562


http://jeffri.net


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2009, 05:28:49 pm »

AFAIK, the segmentation fault can be caused by bad header or code... What SDK did you use anyway?
Logged

Best regards,
Jeffri H.

rahjman
Guest
« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2009, 03:42:32 am »

I dont think its about SDK, I use blackhawk SDK and ezx-crosstool-0.6,  btw. My toolchain works perfect because as I said I run my app directly on phone via file-manager and just run the hello.lin file. The problem is I cant run the same file via telnet, It just seg faults.
Logged
keaglez
Indonesian Motolover
PHD modder
***

Karma: 61
Offline Offline

Posts: 2562


http://jeffri.net


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2009, 03:44:44 am »

Hmm... Try this
Code:
. /etc/init.d/ezxenvr.sh
./hello-world.lin
Logged

Best regards,
Jeffri H.

rahjman
Guest
« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2009, 10:38:28 am »

Nope,
 it doesn't work.

Code:
root@ROKR E2:/mmc/mmca1/qt4# /etc/init.d/ezxenvr.sh
root@ROKR E2:/mmc/mmca1/qt4# ./hello-world.lin
./hello-world.lin: error while loading shared libraries: libezxappbase.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
root@ROKR E2:/mmc/mmca1/qt4#
Logged
keaglez
Indonesian Motolover
PHD modder
***

Karma: 61
Offline Offline

Posts: 2562


http://jeffri.net


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2009, 06:43:08 pm »

Nope,
 it doesn't work.

Code:
root@ROKR E2:/mmc/mmca1/qt4# /etc/init.d/ezxenvr.sh
root@ROKR E2:/mmc/mmca1/qt4# ./hello-world.lin
./hello-world.lin: error while loading shared libraries: libezxappbase.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
root@ROKR E2:/mmc/mmca1/qt4#

Look the line carefully, notice the space after dot in the first line... (it is actually dot space /etc/init.d/ezxenvr.sh)
Code:
. /etc/init.d/ezxenvr.sh

or if it confuse you, use
Code:
source /etc/init.d/ezxenvr.sh
Logged

Best regards,
Jeffri H.

rahjman
Guest
« Reply #12 on: March 03, 2009, 12:33:18 am »

Thanks dude, it worked.

Now, I can develop native ezx apps and test it via telnet. There remains one big problem for me, using Qt Embedded itself. the  arm-linux-g++ in cross-tool-0.6 has big problems compiling Qt 4.4.3 and freetype2. Without freetype2 it compiles but qt apps throws an error about its native font format "qpf". Is it possible to use a new g++ like 4.x series? Can I use different gcc's, for example gcc from crosstool-0.6 to ezx development and gcc 4.x to qt development? Should it work?
Logged
keaglez
Indonesian Motolover
PHD modder
***

Karma: 61
Offline Offline

Posts: 2562


http://jeffri.net


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: March 03, 2009, 12:47:32 am »

Ah, now I don't know... lol Smiley
Logged

Best regards,
Jeffri H.

rahjman
Guest
« Reply #14 on: March 03, 2009, 12:49:21 am »

Ah, now I don't know... lol Smiley

Thanks anyways Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Design By Forum Hosting
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines